| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
andy vaisey Amiga Junkie


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Age: 38 Posts: 416 Location: Pontypool, Cym Cool Guy: MTR1975 8) Great Game: Citadel Great WebSite: O.S.G.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
allistair Newcomer
Joined: 18 Jan 2006 Posts: 18
|
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Stupid spambots! There's a lot of crap like this all over the net these days.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Metalrules Groupie


Joined: 16 Jul 2004 Posts: 175 Location: Melbourne, Australia
|
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 9:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bet he does not even have an Amiga or WinUAE but just wants to push his stupid porn site  _________________ Let each note i now play, be a black arrow of death sent straight to the hearts of all those who play false metal. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
LeeT Lemon Amiga Team Member


Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 566 Location: United Kingdom - Hartlepool * Amiga Owned - A600
|
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Those ad's are appearing on most forums - Just logged into another forum and there was about ten new ones.
All I can ask is - If any appear here, please don't bother adding replies and one of the mods or Kim will delete the thread. _________________ www.lemon64.com - For all C64 fans!
http://compilation64.5gigs.com -
Details of Compilations released for the C64. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
andy vaisey Amiga Junkie


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Age: 38 Posts: 416 Location: Pontypool, Cym Cool Guy: MTR1975 8) Great Game: Citadel Great WebSite: O.S.G.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
LeeT Lemon Amiga Team Member


Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 566 Location: United Kingdom - Hartlepool * Amiga Owned - A600
|
Posted: Tue May 09, 2006 7:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| andy vaisey wrote: | Hmmm...
What I don't understand is that up-to-date installs of phpBB have visual confirmation as an option to register as a member and I believe Kim has this switched on.
How does the "spambot" get past this? They can read those funny little scribbled code graphics that even I, with 20/20 vision, have trouble reading????  |
I've heard that some of the sites are employing people to enter the codes.  _________________ www.lemon64.com - For all C64 fans!
http://compilation64.5gigs.com -
Details of Compilations released for the C64. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
andy vaisey Amiga Junkie


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Age: 38 Posts: 416 Location: Pontypool, Cym Cool Guy: MTR1975 8) Great Game: Citadel Great WebSite: O.S.G.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Haplo Moderator & Database editor


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Age: 36 Posts: 550 Location: Sydney, Australia. Fave Game: Flashback
|
Posted: Wed May 10, 2006 2:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
In the Last Ninja Archives forum we used to allow guest posting, until one day I had to delete 139 spam posts that appeared only 8 hours after the previous cleanup...
So we disabled guest posts, and now these dodgy memebers are signing up (and spamming) like there is no tomorrow.
| LeeT wrote: |
I've heard that some of the sites are employing people to enter the codes.  |
A lot of spam I delete have a text at the bottom to advertise their spamming service, check here for example http://heechee.net/ninjaboard/viewtopic.php?t=435 _________________ Wanna see how Amiga games end?
http://endings.lemonamiga.com/ |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Kim Lemon Founder of Lemon Amiga

Joined: 12 Jun 2004 Age: 34 Posts: 1110 Location: Sweden
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 4:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just deleted some members with user names like...
umdrlaezp
buytramadol501
ejldilozkay
ypsqppvntw
usersporn
jqnyqpquya
jsjeffft
prmcluysc
porn-xxx-girls
tykktykk
phone-cards
luhnebewnm
joiqdpnbc
khizlyuklcg
orkfkrqjg
jcrwuebbls
vphvhhi
 _________________
A1200D / Blizzard 1260 / 64MB RAM / 40GB 2.5" internal HD / Subway USB / OS 3.9
Get some neat Amiga T-shirts |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
andy vaisey Amiga Junkie


Joined: 15 Jul 2004 Age: 38 Posts: 416 Location: Pontypool, Cym Cool Guy: MTR1975 8) Great Game: Citadel Great WebSite: O.S.G.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
LeeT Lemon Amiga Team Member


Joined: 14 Jul 2004 Posts: 566 Location: United Kingdom - Hartlepool * Amiga Owned - A600
|
Posted: Fri May 12, 2006 5:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just to add that the spammers even use myspace these days - Every week I get one or two people wanting to be added to my friend list - When I check their profile their photos page brings up a link to sex sites!  _________________ www.lemon64.com - For all C64 fans!
http://compilation64.5gigs.com -
Details of Compilations released for the C64. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rocky1980 Lemon Amiga Donator


Joined: 02 Jan 2006 Posts: 324 Location: Fife, Scotland
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Predseda Team Member & Donator


Joined: 16 Jul 2004 Age: 35 Posts: 4189 Location: Prague, heart of Europe
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 6:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
A lot of forums, incl. my own (which is not running on PhpBB, but on Phorum engine) is often attacked by these spamming machines, which set up fake identities and threads. There is no any reliable defence against it.  _________________
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rocky1980 Lemon Amiga Donator


Joined: 02 Jan 2006 Posts: 324 Location: Fife, Scotland
|
Posted: Fri May 26, 2006 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Any whay do they do it, all in the hope somone will click on one of there links . Its always about money _________________
Rocky
---
"Great Games Never Die, They just get emulated"
http://www.youtube.com/user/rockythefishman |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
a_three_headed_monkey Master of Amiga


Joined: 09 May 2006 Posts: 1015 Location: England
|
Posted: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Anybody else think this member may have been sent to us by the spam demons? If you're not a spammer gdfrtbe53 then I appologise but your profile name & website link sucks.gdfrtbe53 _________________
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|